• male dominance hierarchy








Macaca arctoides ベニガオザル Stump-tailed macaque

Macaca assamensis アッサムモンキー Assam macaque

Macaca brunnescens ブトンモンキー Muna-Buton macaque

Macaca cyclopis タイワンザル Formosan macaque

Macaca fascicularis カニクイザル Crab-eating macaque

Macaca fuscata ニホンザル Japanese macaque

Macaca hecki ヘックモンキー Heck's macaque

Macaca maura ムーアモンキー Moor macaque

Macaca mulatta アカゲザル Rhesus macaque

Macaca nigra クロザル Celebes crested macaque 

Macaca nemestrina ブタオザル Pig-tailed macaque

Macaca nigrescens ゴロンタロモンキー Gorontalo macaque

Macaca ochreata ブーツモンキー Booted macaque

Macaca pagensis メンタワイマカク Mentawai macaque(ブタオザルの亜種とする説もあり)

Macaca radiata ボンネットモンキー Bonnet macaque

Macaca silenus シシオザル Lion-tailed macaque

Macaca sinica トクモンキー Toque macaque

Macaca sylvanus バーバリーマカク Barbary macaque

Macaca thibetana チベットモンキー Tibetan macaque

Macaca tonkeana トンケアンモンキー Tonkean macaque

The macaques constitute a genus of Old World monkeys of the subfamily Cercopithecinae.

Aside from humans (genus Homo), the macaques are the most widespread primate genus, ranging from Japan to Afghanistan and, in the case of the barbary macaque, to North Africa. Twenty-two macaque species are currently recognised, and they include some of the monkeys best known to non-zoologists, such as the rhesus macaque, Macaca mulatta, and the barbary macaque, M. sylvanus, a colony of which lives on the Rock of Gibraltar. Although several species lack tails, and their common names therefore refer to them as apes, these are true monkeys, with no greater relationship to the true apes than any other Old World monkeys.

In some species skin folds join the second through fifth toes, almost reaching the first metatarsal joint.